The Science of the Artful Ramble

“5. PETE DOUGHERTY
It’s got some cookie dough in it, and some crack”
Peter Robinson, Guardian Unlimited Blog, on future ice cream flavors for Ben and Jerry’s

I just want to take a moment to pay homage to something that I have been talking about, more or less on a loop, for about two years now.

The Guardian.

Now, I know, it’s just a newspaper. I even know that other newspapers have a sense of humor (though, I’ll ask you, what other newspapers have Lucy Mangan?) but very few newspapers in Britain, and fewer still in the US, have as full-fledged a grasp of the importance of really well written fluff. And while this is only one of the many features of the paper that I will end up posting about here, it seems to fit the mood of mindless summer I’m in today.

With that in mind, a brief tour of my favorites:

My hero, Lucy Mangan, on book tokens – not necessarily her funniest, wittiest, or most meaningful, but the single best column I’ve ever read for immediately endearing you to the columnist.

The lovable Jon Ronson (once pummeled on the letters page, causing me to get out of the bath where I was reading said letters, go to my computer, and, wrapped in my towel, write a spirited defense of the man – all before realizing just how lame that made me.)

This is Tim Dowling, Jon Ronson’s replacement on the Saturday Guardian Random Fluff Page (I’m not sure that’s the official title, but if the shoe fits…) who I resented for ages (see above for my love of Ronson) but became the highlight of my Saturday mornings. Turns out, Tim’s wife feels the same.

Leave a Reply

