Vintage Find of the Week

In this weekly installment, Willa and I explore our love of all things vintage and retro.  Not very surprising that two women with history degrees who walk around in brightly colored banana heeled mary janes would be into the nostalgia of vintage clothing.  But it is part of what makes us awesome…especially because we co-op our retro looks, we don’t let them co-op us into crazy vintage hipsters who refuse to wear new clothing.  No offense to you crazy hipsters, we love you too.

Anyway, this week we have vintage aprons after the jump.

Yes, it may seem a bit strange that a crazily independent, feminist woman finds vintage aprons endearing.  But I do.  Not only are they a throw-back to the times when women did dress up for dinner (which I am totally for every once in a while when I can convince myself to get out of my jeans), but aprons serve a useful purpose.  Now, I’m not saying I’m going to sit at home all day cooking a wonderful meal for my man to enjoy with his scotch when he comes home because he deserves it just for being a man.  But I do enjoy cooking and baking, especially for loved ones.  And sometimes cooking and baking get a bit messy and I want something cute to protect what I’m wearing from the flour I will inevitably spill on myself.  Where’s the harm in that?

Sure, sure, I can get new aprons.  But…they’re pretty bland.  Why get a new one when I can get this fabulous 1950s version with a calypso dance and notes on it?  Plus, it’s cut wide enough to actually cover a full skirt if I’m wearing one!

Calypso Dance Apron from Ballyhoo.com

Calypso Dance Apron from Ballyhoovintage.com

And then there’s this beauty from the same online shop:

Pin-Up Girl Vintage Apron from Ballyhoovintage.com

Pin-Up Girl Vintage Apron from Ballyhoovintage.com

I LOVE the pin-up girl detail and the little doggies on it.

What can I say?  I may be a strong, independent woman, but I’m a sucker for cute, girly things.  And cute, vintage, girly things are even better.

Leave a Reply

