Missouri Loves Company I

I’m heading to my hometown today, so I’ve spent much of the past week listening to my St. Louis playlist which includes my favorite St. Louis and Missouri-centric songs. I thought I’d share some of the highlights with all y’all (in two installments).

Let’s get this one out of the way first:

Judy Garland – Meet Me in St. Louis

The all-girls’ school in the movie is totally based on my high school. Just sayin’. We even watched part of it in one of my high school classes to have this shown to us.

And just for the record, the Louise character in the Sex and the City movie totally pissed me off.

Peter Cincotti – St. Louis Blues

Many have sung this song. I like this version a lot.

Wil Marring – Reminds Me of Missouri

Little known fact about me: I adore bluegrass. And everything does remind me of Missouri. (I also wanted to represent with some country, but I couldn’t find a decent video for Sara Evan’s Missing Missouri.)

Chuck Berry – Johnny B. Goode

The original St. Louis homeboy. He also started one of the best restaurants in St. Louis, Blueberry Hill. It’s still the best place for a burger and a beer and some damn good music too. I’m heading there tonight as soon as I get off the plane.

Leave a Reply

