Missouri Loves Company II

Part deux of my favorite hometown songs to celebrate my triumphant return.

Nelly – Country Grammar

That’s my homeboy back when he was a baby and still totally all about the StL. “Sing it loud (what?) I’m from the Lou and I’m proud!”

The Urge – Too Much Stereo

One of my favorite local bands who happened to be absolute all-stars. I was at their last concert when I was 15 or 16. AMAZING. The only concert that has ever topped that night was seeing The Boss. That’s it. This video doesn’t do them justice. But it still makes me feel like a teenager all over again. And frontman Steve Ewing is still going strong around St. Louis.

Stir – New Beginning

Another local band that makes me feel like a 16 year old all over again. Apparently this song was written about the lead singer’s girl leaving him for another girl.

Sorry for the lack of Gravity Kills.  As anyone who came of age in the late ’90s or early ’00s in StL can tell you, they were a huge part of life for those of us who listened to the Point (when it still played cool music).  However, you try to find a video of Guilty that’s not a fan vid of an anime or game…

So, yeah. I love travelling and living around the world and I’m not sure I’ll ever quench the wanderlust in my heart. But it’s a St. Louis heart, and that’s what counts.

Aw, hell. Just for the fun of it:

After the Tragedy – Missouri Loves Company

I prefer Ringo Starr’s Missouri Loves Company, but these guys are pretty cool.

Leave a Reply

