The James Franco Show

I have an abiding love for James Franco that I think started when I was about 15 and he played James Dean in that TV movie. Bam. I’m sold. And then, shortly thereafter, I discovered he’s actually from my town and made out with my friend’s sister in high school and his younger brother is friends with some girls I knew in high school, and I knew it would be a long-term thing. When it turned out he’s actually intelligent and cool and multi-talented (actors are hot, but writers and English majors up the ante) and makes ridiculous videos making fun of himself, I decided we were meant to be.

But now, I’m not so sure. You see, he’s publishing a book of short stories, named after our lovely little California town, and Esquire has been so magnanimous as to publish one so we can get a taste of what’s to come. Gawker reviewed for us, and, well, let’s just say that this story involves a “dragon bong.” Whatever, that’s fine, but I’m more worried about his taking Palo Alto as his own now; as a writer friend of mine worries, can there really be two famous writers (or general writing/movie major players, in this case) from one town?

Just sayin’, James Franco should watch whose toes he steps on…

-Kate

Leave a Reply

